News in Brief

By Editorial Staff

National Awards Honorary Doctoral Degree to War Hero

National University of Health Sciences (NUHS) conferred the honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) degree on Melvin J. Collins during its April 19 commencement ceremony. Collins served in the U.S. Navy during World War II, receiving the Bronze Star and the Navy and Marine Corps Medal of Honor. He redefined the manner in which downed pilots were rescued from their sinking planes, saving 22 pilots during his naval career. Collins would dive into the Pacific with a rope tied around his waist after a plane went down, using a knife to free pilots from their harnesses.

Following his naval service, Collins has enjoyed a long and distinguished career in higher education. He has worked in leadership positions in the admissions offices of Coe College, Hiram Scott College, Drake University and Ohio Northern University. From 1966 to 1970, Collins served as admissions coordinator for the ACA, where he assisted each of its 10 member colleges in setting up their admissions departments and standards. For more than 22 years, Collins has served on the admissions staff of NUHS.

"We're proud to have sterling people like Mr. Collins on our university's staff and as contributors to the chiropractic profession," said Dr. James Winterstein, NUHS president.

AHC Appoints Two New Board Members

Effective Jan. 1, 2008, the Association for the History of Chiropractic has two new board members. Ray Tuck, DC, is the new executive director, and Richard Brassard, DC, is a new interim board member, stepping into what had been Dr. Tuck's position.

Dr. Tuck operates several offices in Virginia, as well as serving as a 2007-2008 American Chiropractic Association delegate. He is also on the ACA Practice Committee. Dr. Brassard currently is the president of Texas Chiropractic College. He is the immediate past president of the American Chiropractic Association.

Foundation for Chiropractic Progress Wins Award

The Foundation for Chiropractic Progress (FCP) has received a Certificate of Excellence for Superior Achievement in Media Relations from the North American Precis Syndicate, Inc. (NAPS). The award was given for the FCP's advertorial regarding children's backpack safety, one of many press releases the foundation distributes to the media to promote the benefits of chiropractic. The backpack news release was carried by 775 newspapers throughout the country, with an overall circulation of more than 40 million.

"The Foundation for Chiropractic Progress is honored to receive this award of excellence," said Kent Greenawalt, foundation president. "It recognizes the FCP's dedication and success in spreading the word about the many benefits of chiropractic."

Dr. Sabia Reappointed to N.J. State Athletic Commission

Dr. Michael A. Sabia of Red Bank, N.J., recently was reappointed to the New Jersey State Athletic Control Commission.

Dr. Sabia has performed more than 6,000 pre-and post-fight ringside physicals for various boxing matches, attended more than 5,000 rounds of professional boxing matches and been ringside for 25 world championship fights. In addition, he served as the ringside physician for the 1988 Olympics in Seoul, South Korea, and as the traveling physician for the Ohio State wrestling team from 1988-2006.

Dr. Sabia is a member of the New Jersey Boxing Hall of Fame and was named Doctor of the Year by TheRing magazine.

NHSU Honors Students and Teachers

Northwestern Health Sciences University recently honored its student leaders and outstanding teachers during an award banquet. Students were recognized for their participation in clubs and organizations and their leadership roles with the university's student senate. Three students were given Student Leadership Hall of Fame awards and three faculty members were presented with Teacher of the Year awards.

Student of the Year awards were presented to Amy Elizabeth, T2 massage therapy student; Chris Edwards, T8 chiropractic student; and Hua Yang, T8 acupuncture and Oriental medicine student. Teacher of the Year awards were presented to Kashif Ahmad, PhD, MBBS, MS, associate professor, College of Chiropractic; Huan Ma, PhD, MMed (China), LAc, associate professor, College of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine; and Beth Burgan, MFA, MA, NCTMB, assistant professor, Massage Therapy Program.

Page printed from: