Meet the New Presidents of CMCC and LACC

By Editorial Staff

The university has become the multiversity and the nature of the presidency has followed this change. ... The president of the multiversity is leader, educator, wielder of power, pump; he is also officeholder, caretaker, inheritor, consensus seeker, persuader, bottleneck. But he is mostly a mediator. -- Clark Kerr, The Godkin lectures at Harvard University (1963)

In the last issue of "DC" we announced the resignations of two chiropractic college presidents, Donald Cassata of NWCC, and John Miller, D.C., of PCCW.

To balance out that debit, we open our chiropractic college ledger to the credit side and make the official entry of the names of Jean A. Moss, D.C., M.B.A., president of Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College (CMCC), and Reed B. Phillips, D.C., Ph.D., D.A.C.B.R., president of Los Angeles College of Chiropractic (LACC)

Both Drs. Moss and Phillips held the title of "acting president" of their respective colleges before their official appointments as college presidents.

Dr. Jean Moss

Dr. Jean Moss has the distinction of being one of only two women chiropractic college presidents in the world, the other being Dr. Beatrice B. Hagen of Logan College of Chiropractic.

In 1965, a young woman living in Bournemouth, England decided to become a chiropractor. The Anglo-European College of Chiropractic (AECC) opened its doors that very year, and Jean Moss became part of chiropractic history by enrolling in the new college's first class.

Two years later she moved to Canada and entered CMCC, one of only three women out of a class of 51 chiropractic students.

After her graduation from CMCC in 1971, Dr. Moss maintained a close association with CMCC over the next 20 years, holding a variety of positions: associate professor of clinical sciences; associate clinic director; clinic administrator, division director of student affairs, assistant academic dean, and executive vice president.

Dr. Moss obtained her MBA from New York University in 1988, graduating after only two years of study in a program that normally takes five.

In 1986, Dr. Moss was awarded the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College Distinguished Service Citation. In 1987 and 1989 she was a nominee of the Toronto Sun's "Women on the Move" awards. Dr. Moss has served on over 20 committees and has had numerous papers published in referred journals.

Dr. Reed Phillips

Dr. Reed Phillips came to LACC in 1986, after 11 years of private practice in Utah, and served as director of research until his appointment to the office of acting president last November. (See December 19, 1990 issue of "DC").

He graduated cum laude from National College of Chiropractic in 1973, and holds an M.S. degree in community medicine and a Ph.D. in medical sociology. Dr. Phillips is a diplomate of the American Chiropractic Board of Roentgenology. He served as research director for the Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research (FCER) from 1979 to 1983, and is past president of both the Consortium for Chiropractic Research and the American Chiropractic Board of Radiology. Dr. Phillips is currently chairman of the Research Committee of the American Chiropractic College of Radiology and is on the Advisory Committee of Back Pain Outcome Assessment Team, funded by the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR).

Dr. Phillips was named "Researcher of the Year" by the FCER in 1990 (see June 20, 1990 issue of "DC"). He was a member of the research team which submitted the winning paper at the World Chiropractic Congress in Toronto, Canada in May of this year. He has published more than 35 research papers on low back pain, radiology, and the reliability of chiropractic clinical methods.

Dr. Phillips serves on the editorial review boards for the Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics, and the Canadian Journal of Chiropractic, and as editor-in-chief for the Clinical Chiropractic Report.

Page printed from: