May 12, 2014

First Woman President of National Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Donna L. Craft, DC, of Brooklyn, Mich., was elected president of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) at the NBCE annual meeting on May 2, 2014.

Dr. Craft becomes the first woman elected president in the organization's 51-year history. She previously served as NBCE vice president in 2012-2013, treasurer in 2010 and secretary in 2005-2006.

"I am honored to take on the important role of day-to-day leadership at the NBCE," said Dr. Craft. "Our first task is to maintain fiscal responsibility, while responding to current opportunities for growth. This includes overseeing the computer-based testing initiative, where success may lead to a model that can be expanded to include other chiropractic college test sites. In the post-licensure area, our focus will be on building a solid foundation for the Ethics and Boundaries Assessment Services as they offer their products to licensed professions beyond chiropractic.

Dr. Craft was first elected to the NBCE Board in 2003, serving as an at- large director. In 2007 she was elected (and re-elected in 2010 and 2013) as district II director, which includes the states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin.

Dr. Craft is a resident of Brooklyn, Mich., and practices in Ann Arbor. She is a graduate of Palmer College of Chiropractic, and served on the Michigan Board of Chiropractic for eight years, including chairperson from 2001-2003.

She has been a member of American Chiropractic Association since 1991 and is a founding member of the International Chiropractors Association Council on Chiropractic Pediatrics. (Dr. Craft earned a diplomate in chiropractic pediatrics from Palmer College of Chiropractic and the International Chiropractic Association in 1996.) In 2002, Dr. Craft was named Michigan Chiropractor of the Year by the Michigan Chiropractic Society (now part of the Michigan Association of Chiropractors).

New NBCE Board Seated

Prior to electing Dr. Craft as NBCE president, state delegates seated the new 11-member board. Five district directors continue their terms on the NBCE board: Dr. Ronald B. Tripp Jr., of Oklahoma in district IV; Dr. Daniel M. Côté (Oregon) in district I; Dr. Craft (Michigan) in District II; Dr. Paul N. Morin (Maine) in district III; and Dr. Norman E. Ouzts Jr. (South Carolina) in district V. District directors are elected to three-year terms.

The board also has four at-large positions, two of which were open for election in 2014. Dr. Steven R. Conway (Wisconsin) was re-elected and Dr. Gary R. Pennebaker (Minnesota) was elected. Dr. Salvatore D. LaRusso (Florida), and Dr. Lawrence O'Connor (New Jersey) continue their terms. At-large directors are elected to two-year terms.

Two NBCE board positions are filled by the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards for one-year terms. This year, FCLB President Dr. LeRoy F. Otto (Minnesota) and FCLB Vice President Dr. Farrel I. Grossman (South Carolina) were re-appointed.

Once the 11-member board was seated, Executive Committee officers were chosen: Joining Dr. Craft are Dr. Morin (elected vice president), Dr. Conway (re-elected secretary), and Dr. LaRusso (elected treasurer).

Source: National Board of Chiropractic Examiners


To report inappropriate ads, click here.