Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – August 15, 2013, Vol. 31, Issue 16

News in Brief

Logan Welcomes New President, Research Dean

June was a busy administrative month for Logan College of Chiropractic / University Programs, with Cheryl Hawk, DC, PhD, announced as dean of research on June 6 and Clay McDonald, DC, MBA, JD, officially inaugurated as the institution's seventh president on June 14.

"It is time to deliver on the obligation to provide access to quality, affordable health care that treats the whole patient," said Dr. McDonald in his inauguration remarks. "We can't ask or expect our students and graduates to seed and lead collaborative health care communities if we don't teach and model that behavior at the institutional level." Named president on Feb. 7, Dr. McDonald succeeds Dr. George Goodman, who announced his 2013 retirement plans in late 2012. Dr. Goodman served as president of Logan for more than 20 years.

Dr. Hawk, the college's director of clinical research since 2010, has also held research positions at Cleveland Chiropractic College – Kansas City (vice president of research and scholarship), Southern California University of Health Sciences (dean of research), and the Parker Research Institute (senior researcher). A 1976 graduate of National University of Health Sciences, Dr. Hawk assumes the new position at Logan beginning with the fall 2013 trimester, replacing Rodger Tepe, PhD, who returns to the classroom after eight years of service as dean of research.

Logan Alumni Association Passes Vote of No Confidence

But all is not sunny at Logan College these days, despite the latest academic appointments. On June 16, 2013, the Logan College of Chiropractic Alumni Association passed a vote of no confidence in the Logan University Board of Trustees and its general counsel. According to an association press release, "The Logan Alumni Board has been concerned about the financial and human resource management of the College for several years. The Logan Alumni Board has had repeated failed attempts to meet jointly with the Board of Trustees, most recently at this year's Homecoming. Furthermore, the Alumni Board sent a letter of questions to the Board of Trustees and received a letter back that did not address the concerns at all."

In the release, Logan Alumni Association President Christopher N. Shoff, DC, stated: "We hope that the Board of Trustees recognizes and listens to the concerns of the independent voice of the Alumni Association and works with us for the betterment of Logan College of Chiropractic. We have continued confidence in the faculty, staff, students, and new President of Logan College, but are concerned with the past direction of the Board of Trustees and their future direction of the College. I look forward to working with the Board of Trustees to address the concerns and wishes of the Alumni Association Board of Directors."

In passing the vote of no confidence, the alumni association has also demanded that an independent accounting firm audit Logan College's five-year financials.

Life West Student Wins $10,000 Scholarship

James Evans, who attends Life Chiropractic College West, is the 2013 recipient of the Dr. Michael Dobbins Excellence in Nutritional Education Scholarship. Evans received the $10,000 scholarship – awarded by Standard Process, Inc., for the fourth year – for an essay detailing his plans to educate and improve the health of patients with weight issues once he graduates and begins chiropractic practice.

AHC Holds Annual Meeting, Celebrates 50 Years of the NBCE

The Association for the History of Chiropractic (AHC) held its 33rd annual conference in Greeley, Colo., in late June at the headquarters of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners. The event marked the 50th anniversary of the NBCE, and several AHC presentations were geared toward recognizing the board and the chiropractic profession in general. For example, Dr. Alana Callender, ACH executive director, shared "To Contain and Then Eliminate ... Wilk, et al., v the AMA," while Dr. Patrick Montgomery presented a paper on the history of the national board. Other NBCE attendees of the AHC annual meeting included NBCE Vice President Dr. Donna Craft and Executive Vice President Horace Elliott.

To learn more about the Association for the History of Chiropractic, founded in 1980 to "promote the scholarly recording of the profession's history," click here. DC also reprints abstracts from the AHC's journal, Chiropractic History; review the most recent edition in this issue.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.