Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – December 16, 2010, Vol. 28, Issue 26

News in Brief

By Editorial Staff

Kaiser Rescinds Policy Change

Kaiser Permanente Mid-Atlantic States and Mid-Atlantic Permanente Medical Group, which declared cervical chiropractic manipulative therapy (CMT) a "non-covered service" earlier this year, has rescinded the policy change.

The decision comes after the American Chiropractic Association sent a letter to Kaiser in August, outlining the clinical effectiveness and safety of cervical manipulation as supported by research. In a letter responding to the ACA letter, Kaiser noted that further consideration was necessary (presumably before making such a change) and that the insurer valued keeping its mid-Atlantic policies consistent with other regions that do not restrict coverage of cervical CMT as provided by doctors of chiropractic.

"This is a positive development," said Dr. Rick McMichael, ACA president. "Clearly, after ACA's presentation of the related facts, Kaiser decided not to keep the changed policy in place. ACA will remain in touch with Kaiser to ensure that their future policies are based on the best available evidence. There is just no scientific evidence suggesting that a visit to a chiropractic physician for CMT causes any higher incidence of stroke than a typical visit to a primary care medical physician."

A Chiropractor in the Florida House of Representatives

Steven Perman, DC, DACBSP, DACBN, has been elected to the Florida House of Representatives, representing District 78, which includes southwestern Palm Beach County, as well as portions of Martin County, Okeechoee County and St. Lucie County. Dr. Perman, a 1979 graduate of New York Chiropractic College, was sworn into office on Nov. 16.

Prior to taking office, Dr. Perman chaired the ACA-PAC, ACA delegate for South Florida, and the ACA's Health Care Reform Task Force. He also served on the Florida Chiropractic Association's Board of Directors and as legislative chairman. According to Dr. Perman, he is requesting to be appointed to committees within in the Florida House that deal with health regulation and policy, insurance regulations, natural resource policy and appropriations, and education.

Dr. Cheryl Hawk Appointed Research Director at Logan

Logan College of Chiropractic has a new director of clinical research: Cheryl Hawk, DC, PhD, who previously served as dean of research at Southern California University of Health Sciences, has held faculty and research positions at Palmer College of Chiropractic, the Consortial Center for Chiropractic Research, and most recently, served as vice president of research and scholarship and Cleveland Chiropractic College -Kansas City.

Recipient of the Researcher of the Year award from the American Chiropractic Association in 2003 and from the Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research in 2005, Dr. Hawk chairs the Scientific Commission of the Council on Chiropractic Guidelines and Practice Parameters, and is the team lead for nonmusculoskeletal conditions, health promotion and special populations.

"Logan is indeed fortunate to have someone of Dr. Hawk's national reputation and vast experience to serve as its director of clinical research," said Dr. George Goodman, president of Logan College. "She will assist Logan in its aggressive research agenda."

IBCE Administers First Pilot Exam in Spain

In October, 31 students entering their third or fourth year of chiropractic study at Real Centro Universitario Escorial Maria Cristina (RCU) in San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Madrid, took a written pilot assessment of chiropractic clinical competency as administered by the International Board of Chiropractic Examiners (IBCE). Although Spain lacks chiropractic regulation, the country is one of the few to boast a chiropractic program - the first class of students began study at Maria Cristina Royal University Centre in October 2007. IBCE testing is one of the ways the profession in Spain can display its self-regulation and take steps toward official government recognition and regulation.

Parker College Provides Care at Susan G. Komen Event

Student and faculty volunteers from Parker College of Chiropractic provided chiropractic care at the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure in Dallas / Fort Worth. Faculty doctors from Parker who participated at the three-day event included Drs. Scott Kopazna, Tom Leon, Rindy Matthews, Sandra Norton, Eric Pearce, and David Walters; Parker students included Matt Adams, William Austin, Reon Bailey, Zachery Bernard, Eric Fierro, Briana Flavill, Mandy Jairell, Marisa Marquis,  Zach Petter, Mark Scott, Meghann Sherman, Nguyen T. To, Drew Trimmier, Eric Widhelm, and Shawn Wilson.

The three-day walk began Friday, Nov. 5 and continued through the weekend, with participants walking 20 miles per day. Parker students and faculty provided chiropractic adjustments and also assisted with various duties including making ice bags, taping sprained ankles and knees, and treating blisters.

Parker College has been the official chiropractic partner of the Dallas / Fort Worth Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure for the past six years.

Harris Foundation Continues Support of Northwestern

Northwestern Health Sciences University has received another matching-fund grant from the William M. Harris Family Foundation. The latest $500,000 gift, which will be paid over the next five years, requires that each $100,000 annual distribution be matched with funds raised by the university.

We are extremely grateful to the Harris Foundation," said Mark Zeigler, DC, president of Northwestern Health Sciences University, "and [for] their continued generous support of this institution and the chiropractic profession."

The new grant extends a 2005 five-year gift from the Harris Family Foundation, which takes the name of longtime Northwestern benefactor William M. Harris, DC, who passed away in 2008. Donations made by Dr. Harris to the university during his lifetime included $1 million for construction of the Wolfe-Harris Center for Clinical Studies, $200,000 to fund a chair in business and practice management, and the initial 2005 donation that helped fund the Wolfe-Harris Center for Excellence.

In other Northwestern news, the school's student chapter of the American Chiropractic Association has been named chapter of the year for 2010. Northwestern SACA officers received the award at the ACA's annual House of Delegates meeting, held in Newport, R.I., earlier this year.

"Receiving this award is an honor," said Nick Eyvindsson, president of Northwestern's SACA chapter. "It's great to be recognized for all the hard work the students at Northwestern have invested into SACA and the chiropractic profession."

Join the conversation
Comments are encouraged, but you must follow our User Agreement
Keep it civil and stay on topic. No profanity, vulgar, racist or hateful comments or personal attacks. Anyone who chooses to exercise poor judgement will be blocked. By posting your comment, you agree to allow MPA Media the right to republish your name and comment in additional MPA Media publications without any notification or payment.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.