Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – July 29, 2010, Vol. 28, Issue 16

News in Brief

By Editorial Staff

National Benefits Big From Vendor's Generosity

National University of Health Sciences is the beneficiary of the latest major donation by Wisconsin-based whole-foods supplement manufacturer Standard Process, which has pledged $500,000 to the university.

More than half of the total donation, which will be dispensed over the next five years ($100,000 per year), will go toward a complete renovation of the NUHS biochemistry laboratory.

"Standard Process shares our vision in preparing doctors with the type of solid training necessary to be first-contact physicians who offer patient-centered whole health care," said Dr. James Winterstein, university president."We are proud to partner with them in this philanthropic venture."

With the donation, Standard Process continues its ongoing financial support of chiropractic education. In 2009, the company made substantial donations to, among other institutions, Parker College ($1 million donation), Cleveland Chiropractic College ($550,000 donation over six years), Texas Chiropractic College ($400,000 over four years), Southern California University of Health Sciences ($150,000) and Life Chiropractic College West ($100,000 over 10 years).

As of press time, the National biochemistry lab is already in the process of being renovated; the university expects that the new-and-improved lab facility will be ready when students resume classes in the fall.

Additions to Foundation for Chiropractic Progress Board

Dr. Fabrizio Mancini, president of Parker College, and Dr. Mickey Burt, director of alumni relations at Palmer College, are the newest members of the Foundation for Chiropractic Progress (FCP) Board of Directors. With the additions, the board now boasts 13 members of the chiropractic community, two of whom are also affiliated with chiropractic educational institutions: Dr. Gerard Clum, president of Life Chiropractic College West; and Dr. Mark Ziegler, president of Northwestern Health Sciences University.

"It is a true honor to accept this appointment and join the Foundation in the great work being done for our profession," said Dr. Mancini following his appointment. "Parker College has been a long-time supporter, and I am excited to be on the board and part of the team behind the Foundation's future campaigns."

"I have been amazed by the number of public relations campaigns the Foundation has developed in such a short amount of time," added Dr. Burt. "So when I was asked to join the Board, I jumped at the opportunity. As individuals, more of us need to do our part to market chiropractic to the public."

Association for the History of Chiropractic Annual Meeting

Dr. Ken Padgett was elected new president of the Association for the History of Chiropractic (AHC) at the association's annual meeting in St. Louis. Other AHC board members include Drs. Reginald Hug, Bill Holmberg, Jerry Willis, Roger Hynes, Michael Flynn (newly elected), Pat Montgomery, Steve Troyanovich (newly elected), Alana Callender, Ken Young, and Frank Bemis.

The 2010 meeting also featured several award presentations, including the Lee-Homewood Award, the highest honor the association bestows. Per the award criteria, this year's winner, Dr. Kerwin Winkler, was honored for making "a distinguished career contribution of lasting significance toward the advancement of chiropractic in the scientific and academic communities, and the public acceptance of the profession." Also honored were Drs. Stephane Provencher and Joseph Unger for their paper, "Sacro Occipital Research Society, International: the Major's Legacy," as well as Jacob Spraker for the best student paper, a discussion of the 1940s polio epidemic in Wytheville, Va.

Parker College Opens New Wellness Center

Drs. Keith Johnson and Daniel Kurth are heading Parker College of Chiropractic's new wellness center in Flower Mound, Texas. The center features private adjusting rooms, passive and active therapy, a patient education room, X-rays, nutritional counseling, and a supplement store, among other amenities. As with Parker's two other centers, students preparing to enter practice will get real-world experience at the new wellness center, treating patients under the guidance of practicing DCs.

National Board News

Our June 17 report on recent chiropractic meetings and conferences ("Focusing on Four of the Chiropractic Pillars: Education, Testing, Licensure and Research") included a review of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) annual meeting. While we listed new and returning NBCE board members, we did not have the complete list as of press time; now we do. In addition to President Dr. Theodore Scott, Vice President Norman Ouzts Jr. and others, the board also features Dr. N. Weathersby and Dr. Oliver "Bud" Smith Jr.

Also not mentioned in our report: Drs. Wayne Wolfson and David Brown received the Paul M. Tullio Award for Dedicated Service during the 2010 annual meeting. Wolfson served on the board from 1999-2005, while Dr. Brown served from 1998-2001.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.