3428 News In Brief
Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – August 27, 2007, Vol. 25, Issue 18

News In Brief

By Editorial Staff

New Position at NYCC for Dr. Michael Mestan

New York Chiropractic College (NYCC) has appointed Michael A. Mestan, DC, DACBR, as the college's executive vice president of academic affairs.

Dr. Mestan had served as interim vice president since the beginning of the year.

Born in Chicago, Mestan received degrees in human anatomy and chiropractic from National College of Chiropractic (now National University of Health Sciences). He eventually began a lasting relationship with NYCC, serving as associate professor and head of two departments. He is also the primary author of the school's Master of Science in Diagnostic Imaging program, and has acquired eight years of administrative experience.

"We have a group of dedicated faculty and staff, and an administration that is committed to quality," said Dr. Mestan. "They embrace the diversity inherent in all demonstrably successful educational processes. It's exciting to be able to work at a college with such a rich history, and to serve with an administration that possesses clear vision and achieves its goals."

NUHS Appoints Two Seasoned Clinical Faculty to Leadership Positions

National University of Health Sciences (NUHS) recently appointed Dr. Vincent DeBono as its new vice president for academic services. Dr. DeBono previously served as a staff clinician at the university's Lombard and Chicago clinics for six years, in addition to serving one year as dean of clinics. He replaces Dr. Christena Nicholson, who has taken a new position with the university as dean of institutional assessment.

Dr. DeBono is an expert in sports medicine and is a certified strength and conditioning specialist. He has been a featured speaker to audiences nationwide on the prevention and treatment of running injuries, and has completed four marathons himself.

NUHS also appointed David Parish, DC, as its new dean of clinics. Dr. Parish is a diplomate of the American Chiropractic Board of Sports Physicians, as well as a certified strength and conditioning specialist, and had the distinguished privilege of serving as a physician to Olympic athletes at their training facility in Colorado Springs.

"We are pleased to have these two dynamic individuals in positions of leadership within the University," said NUHS President James Winterstein, DC. "With both Dr. DeBono and Dr. Parish in their new posts, their years of experience will help assure our students head in the right direction."

California Chiropractic Association Names"Student of the Year"

Scott Elliott, a student at Cleveland Chiropractic College Los Angeles (CCCLA), has been named "Student of the Year" by the California Chiropractic Association (CCA). He received the award during the 2007 CCA Summer Convention, held June 15-17 at Paradise Point Resort & Spa in San Diego.

The honor comes as Elliott concludes his year as the student director on the CCA's board of directors. He was appointed to the post last year by Dr. John Bueler Jr., CCA past president. During his tenure with the board, Elliott worked to represent the voice of students from all chiropractic institutions in the state while fostering cooperation and positive growth among all it serves.

"The award is about service to the profession and working to bring students and doctors together," Elliott said. "To be recognized with the doctors that I worked with is a very high honor." Elliott, who was unaware he had even been nominated, received the news while sitting with representatives of the college, including college president, Dr. Carl S. Cleveland III.

Sherman College Awards Top Honors

More than a dozen chiropractors and other professionals were honored during Sherman College's Lyceum, the college's annual homecoming and educational program, attended this year by more than 800 chiropractors from around the world.

At the event, which took place over Memorial Day weekend, James (Jim) A. Hilston, DC, of Harleysville, Pa, was named Regent of the Year. This award is given to a member of the Sherman College Board of Regents in recognition of their outstanding and continuous advancement of Sherman College through participation on the board. Nalyn Russo Marcus, DC, of Bethlehem, Pa., was named Chiropractor of the Year, an honor bestowed upon a chiropractor who has given extraordinary time and effort to advance Sherman College and the straight chiropractic profession.

Dr. Hilston has been a member of the board of regents for 20 years. He graduated from Sherman in December 1985 and has supported the college at every turn, providing insight, advice, significant financial support, student referrals, and service as an officer and president of the alumni association. He has been active in his profession, serving as board member, president and vice president of the Chiropractic Fellowship of Pennsylvania; and as a board member of the Federation of Straight Chiropractors and Organizations (FSCO).

Dr. Marcus has been dubbed the "idea lady" by her colleagues, and has developed numerous events to help bring the chiropractic message to communities, including the "Orange You Glad You're Well-Adjusted" chiropractic awareness campaign, the Quest for Health Fest and the Sylva Ashworth scholarship, which assists single mothers in chiropractic college. The newest scholarship project has been a highly successful Cooking with Chiropractic cookbook that has sold out the first printing. The popular "Women in Chiropractic" jam sessions developed and hosted by Marcus at Sherman's Lyceum were originally a pilot for the annual weekend Women in Chiropractic Leadership Conferences.

Marcus has been a featured speaker at numerous professional chiropractic seminars and serves on Sherman's board of regents and alumni association (as vice president). She also serves on the board of directors of the FSCO.

Parker Bestows Inaugural Founder's Award

In June, Parker College of Chiropractic honored Dr. Rose Lepien with the college's first Founder's Award. The award is given to individuals who uphold the Parker Principles, the series of values Parker faculty, staff, students and board members follow.

In presenting the award, the administration also recognizes Dr. Lepien as an individual who has given unconditionally to the chiropractic community and upholds Dr. James W. Parker's "Love Concept" of practice, meaning that love is the most important healing technique of all.

Dr. Lepien has served four years as chair of the Parker board of trustees, two terms as president of the college alumni association and four years as president of the World Congress of Women Chiropractors (WCWC). Bill Nardiello will be taking her place as board chair.

"For me, as well as many of you doctors in the audience today, it was the Parker Principles and Love Concept that attracted us to this institution," said Dr. Lepien during her acceptance speech. "I am proud and grateful to be part of the Parker Family and will continue to serve on the Board of Trustees."

Dynamic Chiropractic editorial staff members research, investigate and write articles for the publication on an ongoing basis. To contact the Editorial Department or submit an article of your own for consideration, email .

To report inappropriate ads, click here.