Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – May 21, 2005, Vol. 23, Issue 11

Breaking News: New ICA President

Membership Elects Dr. John Maltby

By Editorial Staff

John Maltby, DC, has been elected president of the International Chiropractors Association (ICA), winning what was reported to be a significant majority of the vote.

Dr. Maltby becomes the 15th ICA president, replacing Dr. C.J. Mertz, who endorsed Dr. Maltby's opposition, Joan Fallon, DC, FICCP.

Commenting on his victory, Dr. Maltby said: "I'm just extremely humbled and extremely excited about the confidence that such a large majority of the voters have placed in me, and [I] am extremely excited about the future of the ICA. We're going to bring this down to the level of the doctor. The mission of the ICA is to protect the doctor's right to practice chiropractic and that will be our focus."

To his election supporters, Dr. Maltby offered his thanks, along with a promise: "I wish to thank each and every one of you for your support of my election as the 15th ICA President. Though I was cautiously optimistic about the outcome, the results were beyond my wildest expectations. ... It is my promise to you that I will do everything within my power to lead the ICA with dignity and integrity."

In other ICA election news, Vice President Daniel Murphy, DC, was re-elected without opposition to serve another term; in 2004, the ICA Board of Directors elected Dr. Murphy to fill the position vacated by Dr. Fred Barge, who died unexpectedly weeks after being elected as vice president.

Also retaining his position without opposition was Secretary-Treasurer Gary Walsemann, DC, who, like Dr. Murphy, was originally elected by the ICA Board last year. In Dr. Walsemann's case, the board elected him in 2004 to complete the two-year term vacated by Dr. Christopher Quigley.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.