Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – August 29, 1990, Vol. 08, Issue 18

An Honorary Degree for An Honorable Man

By Editorial Staff

Donald M. Petersen, Jr. received an honorary degree, Doctor of Chiropractic Humanities, honoris causa, from Cleveland Chiropractic College of Los Angeles at their graduation ceremony on August 4, 1990.

According to Dr. Grace Jacobs, the award was bestowed upon the editor of Dynamic Chiropractic "in recognition of hard work to raise the quality of chiropractic journalism; for his strong journalistic style; and broader scope of responsible coverage for the chiropractic profession." Dr. Jacobs, the dean of academic affairs assisted in the presentation, as the audience of approximately 1,000 people applauded.

Dr. Carl S. Cleveland, Jr., president of Cleveland College stated, "The man that we honor at this time has many accomplishments to his credit, not the least of which is that he is the editor and publisher of the Motion Palpation Institute's Dynamic Chiropractic, the most widely circulated publication within the chiropractic profession. He has built the reputation of the publication to be a reliable, meaningful source of information throughout the chiropractic world. In these ways, he is a valued member of the chiropractic fraternity."

Donald Petersen's efforts to encourage ethical and responsible standards for chiropractic have been mirrored by his quality journalism as evidenced in Dynamic Chiropractic under his leadership and are worthy of our recognition," said Dr. Cleveland, Jr.

The graduating class of 27 men and women especially enjoyed the commencement address given by attorney Shawn Steel, as he extolled the students on how their education has just begun. Mr. Steel's comments on their future were very informative.

The Valedictorian of this class was Randolph Lummer. Honor Cords were worn by Thomas J. Anderson, Ronald M. Cappi, Leah Dawidowicz, Glenn A. Drobot and Arthur J. Keenan, who all achieved Magna Cum Laude and Bryan K. Buescher and Shirley A. Watson who achieved Cum Laude.

Dr. Michael Birozy, Director of Clinic, presented the Clinic Excellence Award to Philip Greenwood for his exceptional work in the Clinic. Thirty-four faculty members of CCCLA participated in the Summer 1990 Graduation in Glendale.

Those graduating were: Thomas James Anderson, Gary Morris Bell, Bryan Kent Buescher, Ronald Michael Cappi, Leah Dawidowicz, Tamra Marie DiCeglie, Luigino DiGuilio, Monica Diane DiGiuro, Glen Alan Drobot, Philip Greenwood, Benjamin William Griffes, Karen Frances Kartch, Arthur J. Keenan, Mehdi Khademi, Ira Charles Lescht, Randolph Lummer, Kevin Thomas McGann, Bradley Thomas Miller, Elizabeth Mojabe, Mohammad Reza Rocknoldin Mojabe, Alejandro Bolivar Platon, Ronald Jeffrey Rudometkin, Nancy Lee Stern, Zuebin Wang, Shirley Ann Watson, Andrew Paul Weiler, and William Ieng Wong.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.