Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – September 13, 1991, Vol. 09, Issue 19

TCA Holds Elections at Convention

By Editorial Staff
The Texas Chiropractic Association (TCA) recently held elections at its convention in Houston, Texas where Michael R. Martin, D.C., was elected president. Other newly elected officers are: Benjamin L.D. Beard, D.C., president-elect, and Steve M. Elliot, D.C., secretary.

Also during the convention, the TCA honored two outstanding members: Richard G. Brassard, D.C., was awarded the Keeler Plaque, TCA's highest honor; and DeWayne M. Mirtsching, D.C., was named Young Chiropractor of the Year.

NCC President Attends AECC Ceremony

Dr. James Winterstein, president of the National College of Chiropractic (NCC), was recently invited to the Anglo-European College of Chiropractic (AECC) to witness the college's conferral of an honorary fellowship upon Her Royal Highness, Princess Diana of Wales (see the front page story in the August 16, 1991 issue of "DC"). Dr. Winterstein attended the ceremony with his wife, and had the opportunity to meet the Princess.

Dana Lawrence Receives Fellowship

Dr. Dana Lawrence, editor of the Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics (JMPT), and director of the NCC department of publications and editorial review, has been elected to the Fellowship of the International College of Chiropractors, Inc. An invitation to Fellowship is only issued after a vigorous investigation of a nominated doctor; only one such invitation is proffered.

Medical Center Offers Chiropractic Continuing Education

The Long Island Jewish Medical Center's division of rehabilitation medicine recently announced that it is co-sponsoring a continuing education seminar open to DCs called "Neck and Back Pain: Diagnosis and Management." The seminar is also being sponsored by the Long Island Campus for the Albert Einstein College of Medicine.

The seminar will be held October 4-5 at the Long Island Marriott. For more information, contact Ann J. Boehme, C.M.P. at (718) 470-8650.

SCCA Names "Chiropractor of the Year"

The South Carolina Chiropractic Association (SCCA) recently named H.W. "Hank" Hulteen, D.C., its "Chiropractor of the Year" during the association's annual convention. This is the second such honor for Dr. Hulteen, who also received the award in 1980. A 1973 Palmer graduate, Dr. Hulteen is serving his third term as president of the SCCA, is past chairman of the South Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners, and was recently elected chairman of the board of the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Board (FCLB).

Palmer Alumnus Donates Portion of Estate to the College

The late Dr. Frank J. Gough, of Lewiston, New York, donated $215,000 of his estate to the Palmer College of Chiropractic. Dr. Gough, a 1931 Palmer graduate, requested that a "Dr. Frank J. Gough Endowed Scholarship Fund" be established, with scholarship monies given to a minimum of two deserving students each academic year. The scholarship committee will choose recipients of these new scholarships on September 16th.

Of the donation Darrell Slabaugh, director of development at Palmer, said that it is "a tremendous way to say thank you for an education. It's a symbol of faith in chiropractic and the future of the profession."

To report inappropriate ads, click here.