Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – July 1, 1994, Vol. 12, Issue 14

NCMIC Election Results

By Editorial Staff
At the annual meeting of the National Chiropractic Mutual Insurance Company (NCMIC) in West Des Moines, Iowa, May 18, 1994, Arnold Cianciulli, DC, MS, FICC, was elected president of NCMIC for the third consecutive term, and Louis Sportelli, DC, was elected vice president.

NCMIC's nine-member board of directors elects the company's officers. The NCMIC Board is elected by the malpractice insurer's 24,000 policyholders.

Dr. Cianciulli, a leading practitioner in Bayonne, New Jersey, is a lecturer, consultant, and author. He is a member of the ACA's National Legislative Committee, a trustee of the Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research (FCER), and is chairman of the FCER Educational Committee. He was named "Chiropractor of the Year" by the ACA in 1985, and "Chiropractor of the Year" in New Jersey in 1975, 1979, and 1981. In 1975, Dr. Cianciulli was instrumental in achieving coverage of chiropractic services under the Medicaid program, helping to secure insurance equality legislation as well as Blue Shield coverage in New Jersey.

Dr. Louis Sportelli, a practitioner from Palmerton, Pennsylvania, has held prominent state and national chiropractic positions, including ACA Chairman of the Board in 1989-90. He currently serves as the ACA spokesperson on chiropractic issues for the media. A member of the advisory boards of The Chiropractic Report and D.C. Tracts, Dr. Sportelli's booklet, Introduction to Chiropractic, is the most widely used patient education publication in the world. He has also co-authored two texts dealing with malpractice, Risk Management in Chiropractic, and Medical Legal Issues in Chiropractic.

"An increasingly litigious environment and pending health care reform are challenging our profession as never before," said Dr. Cianciulli. Dr. Cianciulli stressed the Board's commitment to protecting DCs, and NCMIC's "comprehensive insurance coverage, claims expertise, and our nationwide network of attorneys who defend our policyholders against malpractice." Dr. Cianciulli said the NCMIC's support of chiropractic education and research was particularly critical to "help validate DCs as significant players in the managed care arena."

Election of Directors

Three directors were elected to the NCMIC Board:

Vincent Lucido, DC, is a member for the first time. Dr. Lucido has an active practice in Lakeland, Florida. He served as president of the ACA in 1989-90, and was a member of the ACA House of Delegates. He is a former president of the Florida Chiropractic Association and is currently a director of the FCER, and is on the Executive Council of the World Federation of Chiropractic.

Re-elected to the Board were DCs Louis Sportelli, (Board member for three years), and Phil Aiken (Board member for six years). Dr. Aiken, a practitioner from Provo, Utah, is past president of the ACA (1978-79). He is the secretary to the American Board of Chiropractic Orthopedists, and treasurer of the ACA Council on Chiropractic Orthopedics.

Other Board members who will continue to serve are:

DCs Jerilynn Kaibel, (Beaumont, California); Jerome McAndrews (Falls Church, Virginia); Stephen Owens (West Hartford, Connecticut); Marino Passero (Norwalk, Connecticut); and Michael Pedigo (San Leandro, California).


To report inappropriate ads, click here.