Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – November 6, 1995, Vol. 13, Issue 23

Assoc. for the History of Chiropractic to Meet at Sherman College

Officers Elected and Lee-Homewood Heritage Award Presented

By Editorial Staff
The Association for the History of Chiropractic (AHC) will hold its 16th annual Conference on Chiropractic History at Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic sometime in late May or early June.

The AHC, which was organized at Spears Hospital in 1980, held its first annual Conference on Chiropractic History in 1981. The association has held its annual meeting and scholarly paper session each year since at one of the chiropractic colleges.

Officers Elected

New officers of the AHC were elected at a meeting in Davenport, which coincided with the Davenport Centennial Grand Finale celebration:

Alana Callender, MS, -- President
Mildred Kimbrough, DC, -- 1st. vice president
Walter Wardwell, PhD, -- 2nd vice president

Glenda Wiese, MA, -- executive director (effective Jan. 1, 1996)

Bart Green, DC, instructor in chiropractic history at LACC, was elected to the AHC's Board of Directors. Dr. Green was also appointed associate editor of the AHC's journal, Chiropractic History (at the society's mid-year board meeting last February).

John Willis, MA, DC, begins his responsibilities as editor of Chiropractic History on January 1, 1996. Dr. Willis takes over from Mr. Russ Gibbons, who was the founding editor of the journal and has served in that post since 1980.

By vote of the membership, the Association of Chiropractic Colleges (ACC) has been made a permanent member of the AHC, and will select a representative to the AHC's Board of Directors. Herbert J. Vear, DC, former president of the AHC, was elected director emeritus of the AHC.

Lee-Homewood Heritage Award

Each year the AHC recognizes a living person who has made a lifetime contribution to the chiropractic profession. This recognition is in the form of the Association's "Lee-Homewood Heritage Award," named after the first two recipients, Lyndon E. Lee, DC of New York and A. Earl Homewood, DC, ND, LL.B., former president of the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College and LACC.

In this centennial year, Walter B. Wolf, DC, who served as a member of the NCA/ACA Council on Education (CCE's predecessor) during 1947-1971 and paved the way for federal recognition of chiropractic education, received the Lee-Homewood Heritage Award in Davenport.

Other recipients of this honor have included William Coggins, DC; W. Heath Quigley, MA, DC; Paul Smallie, DC; and Walter Wardwell, PhD.

Any member of the AHC can nominate an individual for the Lee-Homewood Heritage Award. The nominated individual must have retired from active involvement in the profession. Selection of the recipient for the award is made by the AHC Board of Directors. Nominations can be sent to Joseph Keating Jr., PhD, c/o of the Los Angeles College of Chiropractic, P.O. Box 1166, Whittier CA 90609.

Membership in the AHC ($50/year or $20/year for students) includes a subscription to the AHC's scholarly periodical, Chiropractic History, (indexed in the National Library of Medicine's Bibliography of the History of Medicine), and the association's quarterly newsletter.

Anyone interested in joining the AHC should send a check in the proper amount to the executive director of the AHC, 1000 Brady Street, Davenport IA 52803.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.