Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – February 27, 1995, Vol. 13, Issue 05

Univ. of Bridgeport Graduates First Class

By Editorial Staff
BRIDGEPORT, Connecticut -- Dec. 17, 1994 marks an historic date for chiropractic: the first graduating class (10 students) of the University of Bridgeport Chiropractic College (UBCC). The students are also the first chiropractors to graduate from a four-year university in the U.S.

The University of Bridgeport, founded in 1927, began its inaugural classes in chiropractic Sept. 5, 1991; the chiropractic college received CCE accreditation in May of 1994.

Louis Sportelli, DC, ACA spokesman and former ACA board chairman, presented the commencement address. Neil Stern, DC, executive vice president of Parker Chiropractic College, was the recipient of an honorary doctor of science degree. Dr. Stern was instrumental in helping UBCC earn full accreditation.

Robert Matrisciano, DC, was honored with the first Ernest Napolitano award for his contributions in laying the foundation for the partnership between the University of Bridgeport and the chiropractic college.

UBCC's First Graduating Class

Gina Carucci (Hartford, CT);
Ardee Davis (Roselle, NJ);
Todd Davis (Wallingford, CT);
Michael DiMauro (Woburn, MA);
Stephen Fowler (Middlefield, CT);
Michael Gaccione (Nutley, NJ);
Karl Nixdorf (Montvale, NJ);
Angela O'Hara (Fairfield, NJ);
Fredrick Stinner (Rahway, NJ);
Behjat Syed (Stamford, CT).

To report inappropriate ads, click here.