Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – September 12, 1996, Vol. 14, Issue 19

News in Brief

By Editorial Staff
National Student Will Chair SACA

Sandra Hughes: "I am trying to improve the future for when we graduate."

Sandra Hughes, a student at National College of Chiropractic (NCC), was recently elected national chair of the Student American Chiropractic Association (SACA).

Her responsibilities include coordinating communication with the national officers and chapter presidents, organizing and presiding at the annual SACA convention and mid-winter conference, preparing reports to the ACA based on chapter quarterly reports, and advising prospective student members of ACA services.

In addition to her recent tenure as National's SACA president (1995-96), Sandra has been active in various posts within student chiropractic organizations since she began her chiropractic studies in 1994: NCC student council representative, student ambassador to the Chiropractic Centennial Foundation, alternative delegate to the World Congress of Chiropractic Students (WCCS), and head WCCS delegate.

"I am trying to improve the future for when we graduate," Sandra said. "The decisions that are being made in Congress right now are going to affect us as future doctors of chiropractic."


NY State Chiro. Assoc. Honors Drs. Cohen and Lacerenza

Dr. Andrew Lacerenza (r) receives NYSCA's "Chiropractor of the Year Award."

Dr. Dale Cohen (l) accepts NYSCA's highest honor, the "Ernest G. Napolitano Award."

The New York State Chiropractic Association (NYSCA) awarded two of its highest honors at the organization's annual convention in June: the "Chiropractor of the Year Award" and the "Ernest G. Napolitano Award."

Dr. Andrew Lacerenza, lead plaintiff in the current class action suit that New York DCs have filed against Long Island, N.Y. HMOs (see the July 1, 1996 issue of "DC"), was named "Chiropractor of the Year." He has been a member of NYSCA since 1980, and has been active on a district and state level, serving in several district offices and as District 7 delegate for the past 10 years. Last year, he became the chapter coordinator for the NYSCA managed care project.

Dr. Dale Cohen received NYSCA's highest honor, the "Ernest G. Napolitano Award," which is named after the former president of New York Chiropractic College who served from 1959 to his death in 1985. The award is given to a doctor in recognition of selfless contributions to NYSCA and to the profession. The award carries a $1,000 donation in the recipient's name to the Chiropractic Education Foundation of New York (CEFNY), which awards several scholarships each year to New York residents attending chiropractic colleges. Dr. Cohen's long list of positions within the chiropractic profession include: president of NYSCA (1993-95); treasurer and vice president on the NYSCA Board of Directors; chair of the NYSCA Medicare Committee; and secretary of the Congress of Chiropractic State Associations (COCSA). He was voted "Chiropractor of the Year" for 1995 by his district.


NCC Professor Named to Who's Who in Medicine and Health Care

Ronald Beideman, DC

Dr. Ronald Beideman, a tenured professor and historian at the National College of Chiropractic (NCC), was selected for the first edition of Marquis' Who's Who in Medicine and Health Care 1997-1998.

Dr. Beideman made history in 1982 by becoming the first chiropractor ever appointed to the Health Care Financing Administration's National Professional Standards Review Council. During his career, he has held prominent academic appointments at NCC, operated a private practice, and served on a number of national boards. He is a longtime fellow of the International College of Chiropractors (ICC) and has been an ICC faculty member since 1980.


NWCC and Local Community College Join Forces for New Program

Northwestern College of Chiropractic (NWCC) and Normandale Community College recently announced a new joint program for chiropractic paraprofessionals. The two year program will lead to an Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degree and will include general education courses (32 quarter hours), core paraprofessional courses (35 credits), and specialization courses (25 credits) that will focus on patient care, accounts management, and office management.

"Doctors of chiropractic need quality people in their front office, in accounts management, to assist the doctor in physical therapy, taking x-rays, implementing patient satisfaction and quality assurance programs in the clinic, and representing the office in the community," said Dr. John Allenburg, NWCC president. "All of these areas demand a high level of knowledge and skill."

For more information, contact NWCC at (612) 888-4777. DC

To report inappropriate ads, click here.