Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – January 27, 1997, Vol. 15, Issue 03

LACC Celebrates 85th Anniversary

By Editorial Staff
WHITTIER, California -- In 1911, Dr. Charles Cale chartered the Los Angeles College of Chiropractic (LACC); the following year, seven students made up the first graduating class. By 1950 the school had moved to Glendale and had a four year curriculum.

More modern milestones include:

  • accreditation from the Council on Chiropractic Education (1966);

  • purchase of the 39 acres campus in Whittier (1981);

  • receiving the largest federal grant ever given to a chiropractic college, nearly $1 million, for low back pain research (1995);

  • operating three chiropractic clinics (Whittier, Pasadena, and Glendale).

October 11, 1996 marked LACC's 85th anniversary, and was celebrated by over 700 guests. Keynote speakers included the Mayor of Whittier, Janet Henke; notable LACC alumni doctors, including California Assembly member Martin Gallegos ('82); ACA President Kurt Hegetschweiler ('78); and co-vice president of LACC's Alumni Association, Willious Lanier ('94).

The college received congratulations from many sectors: letters arrived from Vice President Al Gore; California Governor Pete Wilson; Los Angeles Mayor Richard Riordan; Senator Orrin Hatch (R-Utah); Senator Barbara Boxer (D-California); Senator Diane Feinstein (D-California); Congressman Ed Royce (R-California); and La Habra, California Mayor Steve Anderson.

During the celebration's luncheon, the letter sent by Vice President Gore was read. Vice President Gore praised the leadership of Dr. Reed Phillips, and the contributions to the nation made by LACC in training "highly regarded professionals."

"If the next 85 years are like the first," Mr. Gore added, "your school will continue to have an important impact on many lives."

LACC President Dr. Reed Phillips addressed the gathering, praising the college's great progress over the course of its 85-year history, and the strides it has made in research and progressive education.

LACC staff joining Dr. Phillips at the podium, among others, were: Dr. John Beckman, senior vice president; Dr. Alan Adams, vice president of professional affairs; Dr. Nathan Church, dean of student affairs; Dr. Delmas Allen, dean of academic affairs; Dr. Ross Woolley, dean of research and postgraduate education; Dr. Gary Shultz, chair of the radiology department; Steve Na, president of the student body; and Christine Smith, president of the campus Council of Clubs and Organizations.

Festivities included a door-prize give away of more than $2,000 in gifts and prizes donated by chiropractic vendors in Orange county and Whittier-area businesses, which included Nikken Industries and Meyer's Distributing.

To close the celebration, students and faculty who represented LACC at the 1996 Chiro-Olympics, or who were part of the LACC chiropractic treatment team during California AIDS Ride 3, were recognized for their accomplishments on behalf of the college.

To report inappropriate ads, click here.